J2150U Blog #1

I’m Allison Goldberg, a sophomore at the University of Missouri. I’m majoring in journalism and psychology. My emphasis area I want to focus on is strategic communication. I’m really passionate about writing and being creative. I spend my time on campus reporting and event planning for HerCampus Mizzou, an online magazine; working as an intern for Rent the Runway, a fashion firm in New York; and being an active member of my sorority, Zeta Tau Alpha.

This summer I spent my time at home in Chicago working in the city at a social media firm, BCV Evolve. At this firm, I used Twitter, Facebook, Foursquare and other means of social media to communicate for clients. I was able to sit in on business meetings and pitch my own advertising ideas. Some of these clients included restaurants, hotels like Fontainebleau in Miami, The Ritz-Carlton at Half Moon Bay, The Peninsula Chicago and New York; and several other businesses in Chicago, New York and California. I am still working for this firm even though I’m back at school. I am glad I was able to be an intern there because I feel extremely comfortable now using social media like we will be doing in this class. I’ve learned from working there that our world is changing and it’s especially important as a journalist to be able to keep up and to be familiar and comfortable with a variety of forms of communication. I am looking forward to our Twitter quizzes seeing as how I’m a Twitter junkie.

I’m very excited to take this course. I’ve heard nothing but great things about it and I’m not intimidated like I was for J2100. I feel that this class will allow me to show my creativity through my work and to learn a lot of useful information that pertains to my emphasis area. I didn’t feel any connection to news writing and reporting and it didn’t interest me. I’m fascinated by all of the information I’m going to learn about how to be an excellent photographer, video maker, writer and overall; an excellent journalist.

Here’s a link to BCV Evolve’s website so you can see more about what this company does: http://www.bcvevolve.com/

1 Comment

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

